Hiking Trails of Penang Island

Its been a long time that I’ve wanted to make a trail map of the trails in Penang Island. From the time I began using a GPS device (my phone app, Sports Tracker) in 2011, I’ve been constantly tracking the various trails we have on the island. By no means would I say this is a complete map but this is the closest I have gotten in my 13 year hiking journey (I’ve been hiking since I was 12)!

If Penang were to be compared with the other cities in Malaysia, I can very confidently say we are the hiking capital of Malaysia!
Here is a rough picture of the trails we have in Penang. I hope to complete more in the days to come and make this map a lot more colourful!

Trails of Penang Island

2 thoughts on “Hiking Trails of Penang Island

  1. Thank you Rexy for your detailed and such interesting accounts of trails you have hiked in Penang. Hiking has kept my husband and I sane during this crazy COVID time. Hope to try some more of your trails next time. Rose 🌹

    • Hey Rosethorn,
      Thank you. I am glad this site helps. And honestly hiking has been keeping me sane too in times like this. I havent updated any new trails here partly since i got my Hiking Trails in Penang and Nature Trails of Seberang Perai book (and the hectic schedule that came with it) published, but lets see a post might be coming in the near future. Glad to meet you Rosethorn!

Leave a comment